My Idea of Patriotism

People who read this blog regularly question why I write so much about political issues. My answer is twofold. First, it’s in my blood. I am genetically engineered to be an activist-lawyer. My mother organized unions and my father was a civil rights attorney. I grew up in the 60’s at the height of the anti-war, civil rights era and the need to agitate for change was a daily conversation at our kitchen table.

Secondly, I am a trial lawyer and it is my calling is to find and declare the truth and fight injustice. You cannot study the US Constitution or the men who wrote it and not have a sense of responsibility for the liberties we enjoy. My parents taught me that a true patriot is not a sunshine patriot OR a silent patriot. We have a duty to agitate for liberty and fight against the gravity of despotism. Thomas Jefferson famously said that the tree of liberty must be nourished with the blood of tyrants and patriots. He even suggested that a little revolution now and again is good for a democracy.

I think that a true patriot treats his country the way a parent treats their child. He nurtures and praises it when it does well and corrects it when it does not. It is a responsibility we all have, but few are willing to speak out and to act. A patriot is not afraid to act or to speak.

One Response to My Idea of Patriotism

  1. InYourFaceNewYorker says:

    As far as I’m concerned, Patriotism is generally a form of non-thinking. I hate it if you complain about something the government does, the other person says, “Well, if you don’t like it you can leave.”

    Recently, I met someone who told me she was going to write a complaint letter to D.C. Comics because Superman renounced his U.S. Citizenship in a recent issue. I thought she was kidding at first. Then she went on and on about how we should be proud to be Americans and how disgusting D.C. Comics is for doing this and so forth. All the problems in the world and she was worried about a GODDAMNED COMIC BOOK CHARACTER!

    Julie

Leave a Reply

