The Longest War

The President will announce the findings of his yearly review of the war in Afghanistan today. I think he is lying to us. The report (all 5 pages of it) claims progress over the past year, but in the wake of a devastating intelligence report and the WikiLeaks documents, the word “progress” assumes an Orwellian connotation. If this is progress, then there is no end in sight.

Afghanistan is the longest war in American history and even the military admits that whatever progress has been made in the past 10 years, it remains “fragile and easily reversed”. “Progress” in the past year includes more Americans being killed and wounded than ever before. “Progress” means that the number of attacks on Coalition troops is greater than ever. “Progress” means more Taliban activity in more areas of the country. “Progress” means propping up a corrupt government that can control (barely) only the 3 largest cities and none of the countryside. “Progress” means spending $2 billion a week even as Karzai and his relatives are depositing millions into foreign bank accounts and shipping out more heroin than any other country in the world.

We’ve been through this before, folks, but even Viet Nam is beginning to pale in futility and lives wasted on a lie. When he was alive, Richard Holbrooke, our principal diplomat in the region regularly despaired over the corrupt and corrupting nature of the war in Afghanistan. His last words before Mr. Holbrooke died was to the effect of “end the war”. The President later claimed that Mr. Holbrooke was only “joking”, which (to me) demonstrated that he is not even making a pretense of honesty anymore.

Please write your representatives in Washington and demand an end to the war in Afghanistan.

4 Responses to The Longest War

  1. Emanuel Black says:

    You make all valid points and I will even go as far as to assume that every point you made is absolute fact. I agree that what the administration calls “progress” is anything but, yet frankly at the end of reading this blog the question that comes to mind is “Who the hell is gonna do something about it?”. Yes what we’re doing in Afghanistan is the epitome of inefficient foreign policy, but the discussion always seems to end there. Mr. Fieger the challenge is not finding the problems. Anyone with a little intelligence the slightest interest in politics can see that the Afghan war is a mess…but then what? You can tell people to contact their representatives in Washington and yes some of your blog-readers may even do it, but lets face it, even a blog from Geoffrey Fieger himself will not have the slightest impact on our nations foreign policy and thats just a fact. I have the utmost respect and admiration for you but if I take the time to read your opinion then I must impose my own honest opinion on you in return; please do not take offense from my previous statements.

    Mr. Fieger I would like to also bring to your attention a matter that I’m sure concerns you, myself and probably all of your readers. That matter is the current state of the city of Detroit, a city both you and I love, a city that is plagued with issues that produce the same frustration from me as the ill-begotten Afghan war does. Yet there is a fundamental difference between irresponsible foreign policy that plagues our nation and the poor local governing that plagues Detroit. That difference being your influence and your potential to spearhead a true movement for change within our city with the latter. Jeff whether you realize it or not you are a local leader and also in my opinion a beacon of light for many Detroiters. You obviously have a passion for change or you wouldn’t take the time to blog about your frustrations with the current President but that issue is massive and will take much more than you to fix. I honestly believe in my heart that you have what it takes to make a fundamental difference in the City of Detroit and that is why I humbly ask, as a Detroiter, that you run for mayor of our city in the next election. Yes it would be a painstaking task but it is also very feasible, it frustrates me to read that people are dying in Detroit because of preventable issues such as slow EMS response. Mr. Fieger I am a college student born and raised in Detroit. I love Detroit and I believe you do as well and I know that, with the right leadership, the possibilities for what Detroit could become are unyielding. If you really want to make a change the opportunity awaits. I know this comment is excessive but I hope you read it and follow up with me, my email is: eiblack90@yahoo.com Detroit is grateful for you and our city needs you to be its next leader.

  2. Emanuel Black says:

    You make all valid points and I will even go as far as to assume that every point you made is absolute fact. I agree that what the administration calls “progress” is anything but, yet frankly at the end of reading this blog the question that comes to mind is “Who is gonna do something about it?”. Yes what we’re doing in Afghanistan is the epitome of inefficient foreign policy, but the discussion always seems to end there. Mr. Fieger the challenge is not finding the problems. Anyone with a little intelligence the slightest interest in politics can see that the Afghan war is a mess…but then what? You can tell people to contact their representatives in Washington and yes some of your blog-readers may even do it, but lets face it, even a blog from Geoffrey Fieger himself will not have the slightest impact on our nations foreign policy and thats just a fact. I have the utmost respect and admiration for you but if I take the time to read your opinion then I must impose my own honest opinion on you in return; please do not take offense from my previous statements.

    Mr. Fieger I would like to also bring to your attention a matter that I’m sure concerns you, myself and probably all of your readers. That matter is the current state of the city of Detroit, a city both you and I love, a city that is plagued with issues that produce the same frustration from me as the ill-begotten Afghan war does. Yet there is a fundamental difference between irresponsible foreign policy that plagues our nation and the poor local governing that plagues Detroit. That difference being your influence and your potential to spearhead a true movement for change within our city with the latter. Jeff whether you realize it or not you are a local leader and also in my opinion a beacon of light for many Detroiters. You obviously have a passion for change or you wouldn’t take the time to blog about your frustrations with the current President but that issue is massive and will take much more than you to fix. I honestly believe in my heart that you have what it takes to make a fundamental difference in the City of Detroit and that is why I humbly ask, as a Detroiter, that you run for mayor of our city in the next election. Yes it would be a painstaking task but it is also very feasible, it frustrates me to read that people are dying in Detroit because of preventable issues such as slow EMS response. Mr. Fieger I am a college student born and raised in Detroit. I love Detroit and I believe you do as well and I know that, with the right leadership, the possibilities for what Detroit could become are unyielding. If you really want to make a change the opportunity awaits. Detroit is grateful for you and our city needs you to be its next leader.

  3. bill minnick says:

    mr. frieger;

    you keep repeating how many people guns have killed.
    How many people have cars killed?
    How many people have knives killed?
    How many people have medical insterments killed?

    guns have killed 0 people -criminals using guns lots.
    cars have killed 0 people- people using cars, millions
    knives have killed 0 people- people with knives lots
    medical insterments 0- dr’s using devices millions

    Come on Jeff get real waste your money on something good.

  4. InYourFaceNewYorker says:

    @Bill Minnick That is a strawman argument; guns are designed for the intent to kill!

Leave a Reply

