Taliban Control Michigan State Legislature!

While we are fighting a war in Afghanistan against a religious-political movement that uses violence and intimidation to silence opponents, Reps. Lisa Brown and Barb Byrum discovered that the Taliban have already taken control of the Michigan State Legislature. Taliban-in-Chief, Jim Stamas, has ordered the Reps. to remain silent and refuses to allow them to represent their constituents because they objected to yet another attempt to steal their rights away. The Christian Taliban (a coalition of far right religious groups) are intent on imposing their religious values on all Americans, apparently not only depriving women the right to control their own bodies, but the right to free speech as well. The next thing we might see is Republicans requiring women legislators to wear Berkas.

The Christian Taliban are no different than the Islamic Taliban, but they are an even more immediate threat to our freedom. They seek to impose their own harsh interpretation of Christianity on every citizen, requiring all of us to be regulated by laws written by their own Mullas (e.g. Catholic bishops, Right to Life, etc.) or be punished. They don’t really seek an end to abortion – they only seek an end to the right of women to make a choice with their own lives. If you have any doubt about the evil intent of these Taliban, just look at the actions of these “Pro-Life” legislators in the past few years: restricting health care such as public health programs, defunding antipoverty programs, preschool programs for the poor, attacks on public education, etc., etc. etc. They are pro-life until a child is born into poverty and abuse – then they turn a blind eye. In other words, the Christian Taliban in America are about as “pro-life” as the Afghan Taliban.

By the way, what if these guys wanted to restrict men’s access to vasectomies?

Shame on Jim Stamas and the other terrorists in the Michigan House of Representatives. They may silence a few women for a few days, but sooner or later people will start fighting back.   

4 Responses to Taliban Control Michigan State Legislature!

  1. Mr. Fieger, you have officially lost your marbles!

    The Christian Taliban? Are you kidding me?

    How do you expect people to take you seriously?

  2. InYourFaceNewYorker says:

    A good post as always, Mr. Fieger.

    And now another opportunity for me to plug my satire, iThe Menstruation Ban Trilogy!, updated in March 2012 with Rick Santorum as the president who outlaws menstruation because it “kills babies” (in previous versions, Jerry Falwell and Pat Robertson, then Sarah Palin were president) http://inyourfacenewyorker.blogspot.com/2012/03/menstruation-ban-trilogy-rick-santorum.html

    Now that that’s out of the way, time for me to do my obligatory rant against the pro-Life™ movement:

    I am so sick and tired of this country’s obsession with fetuses. And stem cells. Seriously, what is next? Obsessing over eggs? Outlawing menstruation like in my satire? If menstruation is murder, then at age 31 I have killed an estimated 240 babies. And let’s not forget how many “babies” men kill when they play the skin flute every day. Or when they have sexy dreams. Oh wait. Is it a get out of jail free card because all a sperm cell is is a vehicle to transport DNA to the egg?

    It’s so clear that the right wing’s concern for Life™ is not about suffering but life for the sake of life. Be fruitful and multiply. Children are a gift from God. And so forth. The other day a woman in Indiana tried to commit suicide my swallowing rat poison. By the way, she was pregnant. Guess what the prosecutors are focusing on? Her Goddamned fetus. Forget trying to get to the bottom of why she was suicidal and what kind of mental suffering she was going through. No. Let’s worry about the fetus which likely had no self-awareness and thus less ability (if any) to suffer psychologically than the mother.

    If the Christian right gets its way, we’ll just breed ourselves to death. Unfortunately, so many people cringe at the very mention of the subject of overpopulation, I think because they immediately jump to the conclusion that if you are worried about overpopulation you must inevitably advocate infanticide. And moreover, I get the impression that they assume that you’re judging them for having ANY kids or even for the fact that they themselves were born! No. That’s not it at all. I’m not worried about the responsible parents having a set number of kids (two is ideal, I think, though I would need to see some charts from experts to really draw any kind of conclusion). I’m worried about people like the Duggar family who have 19 kids (and counting) and who think think that each baby is a blessing for Jebus. 19 squared= 361. 19 cubed= 6859. Basic math. Hopefully some of these kids will start thinking for themselves when they grow up and not expand geometrically. I don’t plan to have kids. I guess natural selection is doing its job on my genes, which are now at a dead end. Oh well. I am not a slave to evolution.

    And finally, on the other side of the my rant against the pro-Life™ movement… Seriously, why does somebody have to be a vegetable like Terri Schiavo before they actually care if the person lives or dies? Why is Life™ sacred (what does that even mean??) only when it’s in the womb or when it’s terminal? We can’t put someone out of their misery but we can let people starve to death? Or we can bomb the hell out of them? What world created this “morality?”

    Euthanasia is one of the biggest non-issues I have ever seen. I remember I was 12 or 13 when I first heard the name “Jack Kevorkian.” My friend at the time told me who he was and what he did. I didn’t give it a second thought. Know why? Because just a year or so before, I watched my five-year-old dog die a painful death from a bacterial infection that destroyed his intestines, made him unable to digest food, and also gave him brain damage. My dad eventually put him to sleep. A few months after my dog was euthanized (or died of a blood vessel burst in his brain– brilliant cover, Dad) I processed it and realized it was for the best that the dog was dead. So when I heard about Dr. Kevorkian for the first time, I didn’t even know euthanasia was illegal. I thought Dr. Kevorkian was just some guy in a hospital doing something LEGAL AND MORAL. Yep, at 12 or 13 I understood what a lot of adults never do because religion puts blinders on them! I really would like to see if they still think the same way if they end up watching another human suffer like that.

    Hope my rant isn’t intrusive on your blog, but posts like these push my buttons and I just have to rant!

    Julie

  3. InYourFaceNewYorker says:

    Oh, for goodness sake, Rex! The Christian Right may not be as brutal as the Taliban, but I think Mr. Fieger’s point was that it could head in that direction, unchecked. Religious fanaticism knows no bounds. Have you ever seen the movie Jesus Camp? Also, did you know that there is a small group of ultra-Orthodox Jews in Israel that want women to wear burkas? Their rationale is that the messiah might come once the women are dressed super modestly. I never would have expected even the most religious Jews to do something like this–they usually have a live and let live philosophy toward the rest of the world– but now I could easily see some of them becoming as extreme as the Taliban. Now, before someone reading this blog immediately plays the “anti-Semitic card” (it’s happened), let me just inform you that I am ethnically Jewish.

  4. Frank Cusumano says:

    It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.

    Aristotle, Metaphysics (c. 340 – 330 BC)

    I think comparing the GOP Legislature to the Taliban is a bit over the top. I think it is a shame because the issue of the majority attempting to silence the minority’s discussion or debate on issues – including the chair not recognizing any minority party representative(s) during the so-called debate on bills – is reprehensible and UN-AMERICAN. What ever happened to respect for the process of Democratic Republic?

    And to say (vaguely), “well they did it to us” is not an excuse. It betrays a fundamental lack of respect for our system of government and American values. Remember what Voltaire instructed, “I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it” and “[t]hink for yourself and let others enjoy the privilege of doing so too.”

Leave a Reply

