What Next?

Under the category of “I told you so” the release of information that the NSA is spying on every American without a warrant touches on an issue that I’ve been talking about for months now, namely, the  malignant cancer of government intrusion into our personal lives. For those of you who buy the argument that government spying protects our security, prove it. Even if spying on every American without any reasonable excuse was cost-effective, do you think that forfeiting our privacy in exchange for security is worth it? Doesn’t the AP and IRS scandals prove (once again) that these unconstitutional spying programs are used to abuse freedom of speech and other liberties? Nixon had his “enemies list”, but under Bush and Obama ALL Americans are considered on the enemies list unless otherwise proven. In fact, the combination of indiscriminate spying (i.e. unreasonable searches) and Obama’s unprecedented prosecution of whistle-blowers reducing government transparency is a greater threat to our freedom than any Moslem terrorist group.

In the words of a great song by “Rage Against the Machine”: WAKE UP! 

Ben Franklin said: “Those who would sacrifice liberty for security deserve neither.”  WAKE UP! 

3 Responses to What Next?

  1. Juan Rivera says:

    Geoffrey,
    Absolutely concise and to the point, when it hit every one of us in the face, at that point, our waking up from the arms of Morpheus will be your… I told you so, now is to late, we did not…Wake up on time.

    “Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.”
    Benjamin Franklin.

    I leave you with another famous phrase, this one from one of the past Mexico’s Presidents.

    The respect to the other people’s rights, is peace.
    Lic. Benito Juarez.

    Best regards,

    Juan Rivera.

  2. There is a great book called The Hidden Brain by Shankar Vedantam. The author points out that more people die from heart disease every day than did people in the 9/11 attacks, yet our brains focus on 9/11.

    If logic prevailed, the government would be implementing mandatory exercise programs and outlawing certain foods. Then again, you could also argue that this death is consensual, in that people who live on McPoison’s and who don’t exercise know what the risks are… I hope so anyway.

  3. Rex A. Umney says:

    You know Mr. Fieger, that’s one thing I have always liked about you… The fact that you’re not afraid to speak up!

    I also feel the spying is out of hand and with the IRS targeting conservative groups, people who adopt, the scandals, and who the hell knows what’s next it’s gotten to a point where I don’t even like to read the news… Just pisses me off! But would it be news if it didn’t?

    What worries me is long time Obama supporters starting to show doubt. For the past 5 years it’s been a slow motion train wreck, one after the other. Really the only thing that makes people “think” things are better is the DOW sitting at 15,000 the past month. I fear when the market crashes it’s going to be bad. It’s amazing how so much of our government is wrapped up in the market and some dare say we coming out of a recession.

    Sure feels like I am working harder and if it weren’t for people (not the government, regular people) helping me in amazing ways I don’t even know how the hell I’d be making it. Seems like I got more, but I am having to work much harder, or maybe I am just getting old? Took me TWO DAYS to fill out and file a motion to compel w/brief. After I work hard on the cars it always seems I’m a little sore. It feels good really, the burn of hard work on the muscles, but I often wonder how much worse it’s going to get as I age.

    I used to think maybe it would be easier as I got older to become an attorney, but I find it really hard “mental” work to perform in an attorneys capacity. I can either be sore from the hard work of being a mechanic, or I can be stressed out and mentally drained pushing paper! Let’s hope I got 20 more years of hard work left in me because my generation won’t get Social Security until we are 67! Shit… In 20 years Ill only be 57! I’ll still have 10 more years on top of that!

    Bottom line… Ain’t no one getting out of this easy I guess.

Leave a Reply

